Bronchogen: what the studies show, status and safety
Summary
Bronchogen is a synthetic chain of four amino acids, Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, from a St Petersburg institute, sold as a lung peptide. Unusually for this series, the lung label holds up: the inventors' patent describes three lung-injury models in 336 rats, and an outside pulmonology institute reported airway findings in rats. No study in people has ever been registered or published. It is approved as a medicine nowhere, and Russia sells it only as an oral food supplement.
Key findings at a glance
- The lung label survives checking. The patent reports three rat models of lung injury with 336 animals. Two papers from a separate pulmonology institute, with none of the inventors as authors, describe airway changes in rats [1], [2], [3].
- No trial in people has ever been registered. Registry queries on 23 September 2026 found nothing for the peptide, while a control query returned 757 studies. The one hit for the name is an unrelated namesake [4].
- The best-documented animal figure comes from the patent. In rats with drug-induced lung scarring, a measure of right-heart strain was 46.6 per cent with the peptide and 66.2 per cent without [1].
- The key laboratory paper spells the molecule differently. The 2014 study of human bronchial cells writes Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu, which is a different molecule. A spelling slip is likely but cannot be proven from the abstract [5], [6].
- Every claim about patients traces back to sellers or to an unsupported sentence. A trade page reports an unpublished 2007 observation; a 2020 review asserts benefit in people and cites only cell work [7], [8].
- Russia registers it as a supplement, not a medicine. A search of the state medicines register on 24 September 2026 found no entry, while three control products were found [9].
- It is banned in sport at all times, under the catch-all class for unapproved substances, with a stricter reading possible [10].
What it is
Bronchogen is a synthetic tetrapeptide, meaning a chain of four amino acids: alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid and leucine. It weighs 446.5 g/mol, which makes it a very small molecule. It carries no chemical modification and has no known receptor [11], [1].
It comes from the St Petersburg Institute of Bioregulation and Gerontology. Vladimir Khavinson and colleagues patented it from 2004 as a peptide that restores the function of the respiratory organs. The group calls such molecules bioregulators, a house term with no standing in any classification [12], [1].
The inventors' account of its origin has two layers. The patent names a peptide complex from animal lungs and windpipes as the model and describes the tetrapeptide itself as made by chemical synthesis. A 2020 article adds that it was detected in Langopept, a bronchial peptide preparation, but cites only the patents for this [1], [13].
That same article names a second molecule found in the same preparation: Chonluten, a chain of three amino acids. The two share an origin story but not a chemistry, and the lung experiments in this literature were all done with Bronchogen [13], [14].
Quick facts
| Field | Value | Ref |
|---|---|---|
| Name | Bronchogen; sold in Russia as Бронхоген; no international non-proprietary name | [15], [16] |
| Other names | Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, AEDL, H-Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu-OH; АКС-Б for the peptide complex in Russian capsules | [1], [15] |
| Class | Synthetic tetrapeptide; "bioregulator" and "bronchoprotector" are the developer's own terms | [14] |
| Structure | Four L-amino acids, free ends, no modification | [1], [11] |
| Formula and mass | C18H30N4O9, 446.5 g/mol for the free acid | [11] |
| Water and fat behaviour | Calculated XLogP −3.8 and polar surface area 225 Ų, so strongly water-loving | [11] |
| Half-life | Never published, for any route or species | [17] |
| Routes used in studies | Into the abdomen and the muscle in animals; added to culture fluid | [1], [18] |
| Status | Not approved as a medicine anywhere; an oral food supplement in Russia; a laboratory chemical in the West | [15], [9], [19] |
| Developed by | Vladimir Khavinson and colleagues, St Petersburg Institute of Bioregulation and Gerontology | [12] |
| CAS registry number | 857267-12-0, found only in the PubChem synonym list | [11] |
| PubChem CID | 11690869 | [11] |
| InChIKey | OFZRHTIWKZWPQF-BJDJZHNGSA-N | [11] |
| Other identifiers | No UNII, no ChEMBL record, no MeSH entry found on 23 September 2026 | [16], [17] |

How it works
Nobody knows for certain. No receptor has been found, and each idea below comes from cells, test tubes or computer models, almost all from the developer's circle.
- It may bind DNA directly. In test-tube work the peptide preferred DNA stretches containing the letters CTG, and it raised the melting temperature of DNA by 3.1 °C [20], [21].
- It may switch airway genes on or off. In cultured human bronchial cells it changed the activity of genes that shape the airway lining, such as NKX2-1, SCGB1A1 and MUC5AC [5].
- The proposed switch only partly works as described. Chemical tags on gene promoters, called methylation, changed for two genes. Three others were "unaffected by peptides", so the authors concluded that other mechanisms must be involved [22].
- It may enter cells through carriers, but only on paper. Docking calculations score it at the amino acid carrier LAT1, yet the group's two papers give different values for the same pairing: −17.26 and −25.11 [14], [23].
- It may also bind histones, the proteins around which DNA is wound, according to a test-tube study from the same group [24].
The contrast with Chonluten is the useful boundary here. Chonluten is sold as a lung peptide without a single lung experiment. Bronchogen's lung label rests on work with airway cells and lung tissue [14], [5].
What the studies found
There are three rat models in a patent, two rat studies from an outside institute, several cell and tissue studies, and no study in people. Every result below is from animals or cells.
::mono-bar-chart{title="The Bronchogen record, counted" unit="records" highlight="Registered trials of the peptide" caption="Searches run on 23 September 2026. Half of the PubMed hits for the name concern the unrelated medical term "bronchogenic", not the peptide. The single registry hit for the name is a namesake test, not the peptide. Sources [17], [4]." bars='{"label":"PubMed records for the name","value":12},{"label":"Of these, about the peptide","value":6},{"label":"Rat studies from an outside institute","value":2},{"label":"Registered trials of the peptide","value":0},{"label":"Published studies in people","value":0}'} ::
The lung label, checked
For most peptides of this series, the organ on the label did not survive checking; see Testagen, Ovagen or Pinealon. Here it does, and it is fair to say so.
The developer's overview table lists "Bronchogen (AEDL)" as a bronchoprotector. That table's own reference is itself a review, so on its own it proves nothing [14], [25]. The label rests instead on three separate lines of work:
- The patent, with three models of lung injury in 336 rats and cultured rat lung tissue [1].
- Human bronchial cell cultures, in papers from the developer's group [5], [26], [22].
- Two rat studies from the Research Institute of Pulmonology at Pavlov University in St Petersburg, with none of the inventors as authors [2], [3].
The limits are real. The key cell paper of 2014 probably misspells the sequence. The outside institute's dose, peptide supply and statistics cannot be seen in the abstracts. And a 2021 review of the group lists, among its references for Bronchogen, a mouse heart study on two other peptides [5], [2], [27].
Lung scarring in rats
Patent document 120 rats received the drug bleomycin into the windpipe three times, two weeks apart, which scars the lungs. After each dose, one group received 0.2 µg/kg of the peptide into the abdomen for 7 days; controls received salt water [1].
Patent document At the end, the patent measured strain on the right heart as a ventricle index. On day 60 it stood at 46.6 ± 1.4 per cent with the peptide and 66.2 ± 2.3 per cent without it, a difference the patent's table marks as unlikely to be chance (p < 0.05). On day 60 the lungs held 1.11 ± 0.15 against 4.16 ± 0.45 million lymphocytes [1].
Patent example, 120 rats, bleomycin-induced lung scarring, peptide 0.2 µg/kg into the abdomen. A lower value means less strain on the right heart. The patent's table marks the difference from controls as unlikely to be chance (p < 0.05). The rats were divided at random; blinding is not described. Source [1].
The scavenger cells of the lung, called alveolar macrophages, engulfed more particles on day 60: a phagocytic index of 78.6 ± 3.2 against 57.6 ± 4.8. The text calls these differences "reliable" but gives no p-values for them. The rats were divided into groups at random, and nothing is said about blinding [1].
Oxygen damage in rats
Patent document 96 rats breathed pure oxygen for 60 hours, which injures the lungs. 40 then received 0.2 µg/kg into the abdomen every other day, 10 injections in all, against 48 controls and 8 untreated animals [1].
Patent document The phagocytic index was 50.8 ± 2.3 with the peptide against 27.3 ± 2.7 in controls, and 45.5 ± 2.6 against 26.4 ± 2.8 at a later point. Both differences were unlikely to be chance (p < 0.05). The patent's timing for the second value does not match its listed measurement days [1].
Bacterial lung infection in rats
Patent document 120 rats were infected in the lungs with Staphylococcus aureus; 50 then received 0.2 µg/kg daily for 7 days. In words, the patent reports that inflammation settled earlier and fluid cleared faster. Its tables, with 7 to 10 rats per group and day, show a higher phagocytic index with the peptide early on: 49.2 ± 2.8 against 17.3 ± 1.3 on day 10 (p < 0.05). By day 20 the groups no longer differed clearly, at 49.3 ± 3.6 against 42.1 ± 2.8 [1].
Airway damage from nitrogen dioxide, an outside institute
Animal data The pulmonology group exposed rats to nitrogen dioxide for 60 days, a model of chronic obstructive lung disease. One month of Bronchogen was reported to reverse the airway changes seen in this model, including excess mucus cells and lost ciliated cells [2].
Animal data A 2017 follow-up reported less inflammation and more surfactant protein B, a substance that keeps the air sacs open. Neither abstract gives a dose, a route, a group size or a p-value, and the source of the peptide is not stated [3].
Human bronchial cells in a dish
Cell culture In human embryonic bronchial cells, the peptide changed markers of cell growth and maturation, and more so in older cultures. A 2012 paper reports stronger activity of two maturation genes, CXCL12 and Hoxa3 [5], [26].
Cell culture No concentrations or effect sizes appear in the abstracts, and all of this work comes from the developer's group. None of it can be carried over to the airways of a living person [5], [26].
Lung tissue in culture
Animal tissue Slices of rat lung grew more when 1.0 to 10.0 ng/ml was added, out of a tested range of 0.01 to 20.0 ng/ml over 3 days. A 2006 study reported a stimulating effect at 0.05 ng/ml in lung tissue from young and old rats [1], [18].
Tobacco plants
Plant data Five papers from 2017 to 2026 added the peptide to tobacco plants at 10⁻⁷ M and saw faster root growth. This is plant physiology and says nothing about people [28], [29], [30], [31], [32].
Claims about people
Seller claim A Russian trade page describes an unpublished observation from 2007 at the developer's own clinic in chronic bronchitis. It says breathlessness and cough became less frequent in 73 per cent of the patients who took the capsules. It mentions a comparison group on standard treatment alone, but gives no group sizes, no figures for that group and no statistics. No publication of it exists [7], [17].
Review assertion A 2020 review from the developer states that Bronchogen taken by mouth is effective in obstructive lung disease. The sentence carries no reference, and the references around it are a cell study and a review, neither with patients [8].
The one registry hit, a namesake
The only ClinicalTrials.gov record matching the name is NCT00746759, an observational study of 1,331 people from 2010. "BronchoGen" there is an alternative name for a gene test run on cells brushed from the airways. No peptide was given [4].
What is still unknown
- How the body handles it. No half-life, absorption or breakdown data exist for any species, including after swallowing a capsule [17].
- Which molecule the key cell paper used. The 2014 paper writes Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu throughout, yet credits that molecule with the patent's three lung-injury models, which points to a spelling slip. Only the full methods could settle it [5], [1].
- The outside rat studies in detail. Dose, route, animal numbers and the peptide's origin sit behind a paywall [2], [3].
- Anything in people. No trial has been registered and no human study published [4].
- What is in the vials sold online. No independent analysis of traded material was found [19].
Side effects and safety
There is no human safety record. No study with safety measurements has ever been run in people, so nothing has been collected that could be reported [4].
- The animal toxicology comes from the patent itself. Single doses of 1 to 5 mg/kg into the muscle caused no toxic reactions in 60 mice, which the patent calls 5,000 times the therapeutic amount [1].
- Longer tests reported one change. In 100 guinea pigs given 1 µg/kg, 0.1 mg/kg or 1 mg/kg daily for 6 months, white blood cells rose. The patent's table shows 11.4 ± 0.4 against 8.9 ± 0.4 billion per litre in controls after 6 months (p < 0.05), with 25 animals per group, but its heading does not make clear which dose level this was [1].
- A 90-day rat test at the same three dose levels reported no side effects, in 60 rats [1].
- Trade pages claim there are no side effects. No publication supports this, because side effects were never systematically collected [7].
- The injected form is the least controlled. Freeze-dried vials are sold outside any pharmaceutical quality system, with sterility and content unknown [19].
The Russian supplement label lists pregnancy, breastfeeding and intolerance of its components as reasons not to take it [15]. A product called Bronchogen Plus is a different supplement with different ingredients, and its warnings do not apply here [33].
The largest gap is genetic safety. No genotoxicity testing and no long-term animal safety testing was found, which matters because the proposed mechanism is direct binding to DNA [20], [17].
Doses used in studies
The doses below are simply what the cited studies gave, listed so that the results can be understood. They are not advice on how to use anything. The one line describing people comes from a seller's account of an unpublished observation, not from a study.
| Study | Model | Amount | Route | Duration | Ref |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Patent, three lung-injury models | Rats with lung scarring, oxygen damage or infection | 0.2 µg/kg | Into the abdomen | 7 days, or 10 injections every other day | [1] |
| Patent, toxicity tests | Mice, rats, guinea pigs | 1 to 5 mg/kg once; 1 µg/kg, 0.1 mg/kg or 1 mg/kg daily | Into the muscle | Once; 90 days; 6 months | [1] |
| Patent, tissue culture | Rat lung slices | 0.01 to 20.0 ng/ml tested; effect at 1.0 to 10.0 ng/ml | Added to culture fluid | 3 days | [1] |
| Zakutskiĭ 2006 | Lung slices from young and old rats | 0.05 ng/ml | Added to culture fluid | Not stated | [18] |
| Kuzubova 2015, Titova 2017 | Rats exposed to nitrogen dioxide | Not stated in the abstracts | Not stated | 1 month | [2], [3] |
| Unpublished 2007 observation, seller's account only | People with chronic bronchitis, number not stated | 1 to 2 capsules of 100 µg twice a day | By mouth | 20 to 30 days | [7], [15] |
The one in-vivo amount with results, 0.2 µg/kg in rats, cannot be scaled to people. No study has ever tested whether the peptide survives swallowing intact [1], [17].
The traded forms differ sharply. A Russian capsule declares 100 µg of peptide complex, while a Western vial holds 20 mg, 200 times as much, meant for injection. Western guide pages quote 0.5 to 2 mg, while conceding "no validated human dose" [15], [19], [34].
Development and approval status
There is no development programme. No trial has been registered, and no regulator lists the substance as a medicine [4], [9].
From patent to supplement
- 2004Patent filed in RussiaA peptide that restores the function of the respiratory organs, with three rat models of lung injury, refs [12], [1]
- 2008 and 2009European and American patents grantedBoth have since lapsed, refs [35], [1]
- 2012Supplement description agreedRussian capsules with 100 µg of peptide complex, sold as a food supplement, ref [15]
- 2014Key bronchial cell paperGene activity in human airway cells, with the sequence spelled differently, ref [5]
- 2015 and 2017Outside rat studiesA pulmonology institute reports airway changes in a nitrogen dioxide model, refs [2], [3]
- 2020Submission to the ministry claimedThe developer writes that Bronchogen was submitted for registration as a medicine, ref [13]
- 24 September 2026Registers checkedNo medicine approval found in any market checked, refs [9], [4]
- 2004 the Russian patent is filed; it is published in 2005 [12].
- 2008 and 2009 the European and American patents are granted; both have since lapsed [35], [1].
- 2012 the Russian supplement description is agreed with the manufacturer [15].
- 2014 the key paper on human bronchial cells appears [5].
- 2015 and 2017 the outside institute publishes its two rat studies [2], [3].
- 2020 the developer writes that Bronchogen was submitted to the Russian health ministry for registration as a medicine [13].
| Market | Status | Note | Ref |
|---|---|---|---|
| United States | Not approved | No substance code, no label, no adverse event file, never nominated for compounding; control queries worked | [16], [36], [37] |
| European Union | Not approved | No name or code; the agency's search could not be read | [38] |
| Germany | Not approved | Inferred from the European finding; the injected form is an unapproved medicine | [38] |
| United Kingdom | Not approved | Inferred; the register was not queried | [38] |
| Australia | Not approved | Inferred; the register did not respond | [38] |
| Canada | Not approved | No drug or natural health product licence; control query worked | [39] |
| Switzerland | Not approved | Absent from the full list of authorised packs; control found | [40] |
| Russia | Supplement only | Oral capsules and tablets; no medicine entry in the state register | [15], [9] |
Two rows need care. The European, British and Australian entries rest on absence everywhere else, because those registers could not be read [38].
The Russian row matters most. The developer wrote in 2020 that Bronchogen had been submitted for registration as a medicine. On 24 September 2026 the state register's index returned nothing for the name or the sequence, while three control products were found. The drug reference site Vidal also had no entry. No approval number has turned up anywhere, so the 2020 sentence remains the developer's own, unsupported statement [13], [9], [41].
A supplement registration involves no test of whether a product works. The wider legal picture is under are peptides legal and FDA-approved peptides.
Anti-doping
Bronchogen is prohibited at all times, in and out of competition. It is not named on the 2026 list. It falls under class S0, which covers any pharmacological substance with no current approval by a government health authority for human therapeutic use [10].
A stricter reading is arguable. Class S2.3 ends with an open clause on growth factor modulators affecting "regenerative capacity", and the developer describes the peptide as promoting regeneration of the airway lining. S0 substances are specified substances, S2 substances are not, which affects the sanction [10], [13].
The German anti-doping statute's annex does not name the substance, and its growth factor section is a closed list [42]. In Russia it is sold freely as a supplement, so an athlete can buy it without a warning and still break the rules [15]. The full picture is at peptides banned in sport.
Compared with related peptides
| Peptide | Relation to Bronchogen | What the checks behind this page found |
|---|---|---|
| Bronchogen | — | Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, 446.5 g/mol; lung label backed by patent rats and an outside institute; no registered trial [11], [2] |
| Chonluten | Said to come from the same bronchial preparation | Glu-Asp-Gly, three amino acids; listed by its developers as a stomach and stress peptide, not a lung peptide [13], [14] |
| Ovagen | The same sequence without the first amino acid | Glu-Asp-Leu; docked to the same DNA stretch in one calculation paper [43] |
| Epitalon | Same first three amino acids, different last one | Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly; one of the peptides in the same transport paper [23] |
| Vesugen | Another peptide of this series whose organ label held | Assigned to blood vessels, with papers that measure vessel cells |
No head-to-head comparison of effects exists, so the table is about identity, not strength. Bronchogen and Vesugen stand out in this series because their organ labels rest on measured work in the named tissue.
Chonluten is the row that matters most for shoppers. Product pages often sell both as lung peptides, but every airway finding in this literature belongs to Bronchogen [5], [2].
Epitalon and Ovagen show how small the chemical differences are. One changed amino acid makes a different molecule, with a different record [23], [43].
Common misconceptions
- "Bronchogen and Chonluten are the same thing." One has four amino acids, the other three. They share an origin story, but the lung and airway findings belong to Bronchogen alone [13], [14].
- "Bronchogen is Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu." That spelling appears in the 2014 cell paper and two DNA papers. The patents claim Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, and the swapped order is a different molecule, known from yeast as a protein-sorting signal [1], [5], [6].
- "An approved Russian medicine already contains Bronchogen." An approved five-peptide mixture for the nervous system, pharmacopoeia monograph FS.2.1.0221.22, contains the swapped sequence Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu. It does not contain Bronchogen [9].
- "There is a registered clinical trial." The only registry hit is a namesake, an airway gene test called BronchoGen, in which no peptide was given [4].
- "Bronchogen has something to do with the medical term bronchogenic." No. "Bronchogenic" is a medical term for cysts and other growths arising in the airways, and it produces half of all search hits for the name [17].
- "73 per cent of patients improved." That figure comes from a seller's page about an unpublished observation. It gives no group sizes, no result for the comparison group and no statistics, so it is not a study result [7].
- "The Russian capsule and the Western vial are the same product." The capsule declares 100 µg to be swallowed; the vial holds 20 mg sold for injection [15], [19].
Frequently asked questions
What is Bronchogen?
It is a synthetic chain of four amino acids, Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, also written AEDL. It weighs 446.5 g/mol, which makes it a very small molecule. It was patented from 2004 by a St Petersburg institute that calls such peptides bioregulators.
Is Bronchogen really a lung peptide?
In this case, yes, as far as animal and cell work goes. The inventors' patent reports three rat models of lung injury, and an outside pulmonology institute described airway changes in rats. None of this has been tested in people.
Has Bronchogen been tested in people?
Not in any registered or published study. A seller's page describes an unpublished 2007 observation at the developer's own clinic, with no group sizes and no statistics. A 2020 review asserts benefit in patients but cites no patient study.
Is Bronchogen approved as a medicine anywhere?
No. Register checks on 23 and 24 September 2026 found no medicine approval in any market checked. In Russia it is registered only as an oral food supplement, which involves no test of whether it works.
Is Bronchogen the same as Chonluten?
No. Chonluten has three amino acids, Bronchogen four. The developer says both were found in the same bronchial preparation, but the lung and airway experiments were all done with Bronchogen.
Why do some papers write Bronchogen as Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu?
Probably a spelling slip. The patents claim Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu, but the key 2014 cell paper and two DNA papers write the middle two amino acids the other way round. That swapped order is a different molecule, and the abstracts cannot show which one was used.
Is there a clinical trial of Bronchogen?
No. The single registry record that matches the name concerns a diagnostic gene test also called BronchoGen. It is an observational study in which no peptide was given.
Is Bronchogen banned in sport?
Yes, at all times, in and out of competition. It is not named on the 2026 list, but class S0 covers any substance no health authority has approved for human use. A stricter reading under class S2.3 is arguable.
Is Bronchogen safe?
Nobody knows. The only toxicology comes from the inventors' patent, where guinea pigs showed a rise in white blood cells after 6 months. There are no human safety data, no data on how the body handles it and no tests for genetic damage.
Sources
- Khavinson VKh, Ryzhak GA, Grigoriev EI, Ryadnova IYu. Peptide substance restoring respiratory organs function. US 7,625,870 B2; priority 22 June 2004, filed 7 December 2004, granted 1 December 2009, since expired. Full text read: sequence Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu (SEQ ID NO:1), synthesis with a yield of 4.10 g (66 per cent), examples 2 to 6 with bacterial lung injury (120 rats), bleomycin lung scarring (120 rats) and oxygen damage (96 rats) at 0.2 µg/kg into the abdomen, rat lung tissue culture, and toxicity tests in mice, rats and guinea pigs. Rats in the scarring model were "divided at random"; tables mark comparisons with controls at p < 0.05. https://patents.google.com/patent/US7625870B2/en
- Kuzubova NA, Lebedeva ES, Dvorakovskaya IV, Surkova EA, Platonova IS, Titova ON (2015). Modulating Effect of Peptide Therapy on the Morphofunctional State of Bronchial Epithelium in Rats with Obstructive Lung Pathology. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine 159(5):685-688. PMID 26468022. DOI 10.1007/s10517-015-3047-x. Abstract read; Research Institute of Pulmonology, Pavlov First St Petersburg State Medical University; nitrogen dioxide model over 60 days, one month of Bronchogen; dose, route, group sizes and peptide supply not stated.
- Titova ON, Kuzubova NA, Lebedeva ES, Preobrazhenskaya TN, Surkova EA, Dvorakovskaya IV (2017). Antiinflammatory and regenerative effect of peptide therapy in the model of obstructive lung pathology in Russian. Rossiiskii Fiziologicheskii Zhurnal imeni I.M. Sechenova 103(2):201-208. PMID 30199201. Abstract read; less neutrophil inflammation, more secretory IgA and surfactant protein B; no figures in the abstract.
- ClinicalTrials.gov API v2, queried 23 September 2026: the trade name returned 1 study, NCT00746759 (Allegro Diagnostics, observational, 1,331 participants, start February 2010), in which "BronchoGen" is an alternative name for a biomarker test and no intervention was given; the sequence returned 1 unrelated study on amino acid mixtures (NCT05400733); "AEDL" and the inventor's name returned 0; the control query for semaglutide returned 757. https://clinicaltrials.gov/api/v2/studies
- Khavinson VKh, Tendler SM, Vanyushin BF, Kasyanenko NA, Kvetnoy IM, Linkova NS, et al. (2014). Peptide regulation of gene expression and protein synthesis in bronchial epithelium. Lung 192(5):781-791. PMID 25015171. DOI 10.1007/s00408-014-9620-7. Abstract read; the peptide is written throughout as "Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu (ADEL)". No concentrations or effect sizes in the abstract.
- Pidoux AL, Armstrong J (1992). Analysis of the BiP gene and identification of an ER retention signal in Schizosaccharomyces pombe. EMBO Journal 11(4):1583-1591. PMID 1373379. Abstract read; ADEL as a protein-retention signal in yeast.
- Russian trade page of the PeptideBio trading house on "clinical studies" of the product, read 23 September 2026, used only as evidence of what sellers claim, never as a scientific reference. It describes an unpublished observation from September to October 2007 at the medical centre of the developer's institute in chronic bronchitis with an asthmatic component, 1 to 2 capsules twice a day for 20 to 30 days, and says attacks of breathlessness and cough became less frequent "in 73 per cent of cases" among patients taking the product. It mentions a control group on standard treatment, but gives no group sizes, no control-group result and no statistics. https://peptidebio.ru/informaciya/stati/rezultaty-klinicheskih-issledovaniy-bronhogen/
- Khavinson V, Linkova N, Dyatlova A, Kuznik B, Umnov R (2020). Peptides: Prospects for Use in the Treatment of COVID-19. Molecules 25(19):4389. PMID 32987757. PMCID PMC7583759. Full text read; the sentence on oral effectiveness in lung disease carries no reference, and the references attached for AEDL are a cell study and a review.
- Russian State Register of Medicines (GRLS), grls.rosminzdrav.ru. The search form was locked by a captcha, so the search index behind it was queried on 24 September 2026 for trade names and non-proprietary names of finished medicines and substances. The trade name, its Latin spelling and the sequence returned 0 entries; the prefix list for "Бронхо" held 29 trade names, none of them this product. Control products Cortexin, Retinalamin and Thymogen were found. The index also lists a five-peptide mixture with pharmacopoeia monograph FS.2.1.0221.22 (Ministry of Health order no. 246 of 11 April 2022) whose first component is alanyl-aspartyl-glutamyl-leucine, the swapped sequence, not Bronchogen.
- World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, classes S0, S2.3 and S3. Full text checked 23 September 2026 with no match for the trade name, the sequence, "bioregul" or "khavinson", while BPC-157 was found as a control. S0 covers "any pharmacological substance which is not addressed by any of the subsequent sections of the List and with no current approval by any governmental regulatory health authority for human therapeutic use". S2.3 ends with "other growth factors or growth factor modulators affecting … regenerative capacity or fibre type switching". https://www.wada-ama.org/en/prohibited-list
- PubChem compound CID 11690869, "Bronchogen", queried 23 September 2026: formula C18H30N4O9, mass 446.5 g/mol, InChIKey OFZRHTIWKZWPQF-BJDJZHNGSA-N, calculated XLogP −3.8, polar surface area 225 Ų, and a synonym list containing CAS 857267-12-0. A name search for Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu returned no compound. https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/compound/11690869
- Khavinson VKh, Grigoriev EI, Ryzhak GA, Ryadnova IYu. Peptide compound restoring the function of the respiratory organs. RU 2255757 C1; filed 22 June 2004, published 10 July 2005; holder St Petersburg Institute of Bioregulation and Gerontology. Read. https://patents.google.com/patent/RU2255757C1/en
- Khavinson VKh (2020). Medicinal peptide preparations: past, present, future in Russian. Klinicheskaya Meditsina 98(3):165-177. DOI 10.30629/0023-2149-2020-98-3-165-177. PDF read: AEDL and EDG reported in the bronchial preparation Langopept, supported only by patents; "After the necessary preclinical studies, Bronchogen was submitted to the Ministry of Health for registration as a medicinal product"; regeneration of the bronchial epithelium. https://khavinson.info/assets/files/russ/2020-khavinson.pdf
- Khavinson V, Linkova N, Kozhevnikova E, Dyatlova A, Petukhov M (2022). Transport of Biologically Active Ultrashort Peptides Using POT and LAT Carriers. International Journal of Molecular Sciences 23(14):7733. PMID 35887081. PMCID PMC9323678. Full text read; Table 2 row "Bronchogen (AEDL) −17.26 Bronchoprotector [170]".
- Russian drug reference rlsnet.ru, entry for the product in the dietary supplement section, read 23 September 2026: capsules of 0.2 g with 100 µg of the peptide complex АКС-Б (alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid, leucine), further capsule and tablet forms, manufacturer Firma-Vita, description agreed 17 October 2012, contraindications pregnancy, breastfeeding and intolerance. No entry in the medicines section. https://www.rlsnet.ru/baa/bronxogen-32631
- United States Food and Drug Administration and NCATS. Global Substance Registration System, queried 23 September 2026: the trade name returned 0 records; "ALA-GLU-ASP-LEU" returned only human C-peptide (UNII O2J76Y002M), which contains the sequence; the control query for semaglutide returned 5. https://gsrs.ncats.nih.gov
- PubMed E-utilities and Europe PMC REST, queried 23 September 2026: the trade name returned 12 PubMed records, 6 about the peptide and 6 about bronchogenic cysts and other airway growths; Europe PMC returned 29. No pharmacokinetic study, no genotoxicity study, no long-term animal safety study and no published study in people was found. The control query for semaglutide returned 5,710 PubMed records.
- Zakutskiĭ AN, Chalisova NI, Ryzhak GA, Aniskina AI, Filippov SV, Zeziulin PN (2006). Tissue-specific effect of synthetic peptides-biologic regulators in organotypic tissue culture in young and old rats. Advances in Gerontology 19:93-96. PMID 17152728. Abstract read; 0.05 ng/ml, tissue from rats aged 3 weeks and 18 months.
- Western research-chemical listing for the substance in 20 mg vials, read 23 September 2026, used only as evidence of how the material is traded, never as a scientific reference. It is labelled "for laboratory research use only" and gives no independent analysis.
- Fedoreyeva LI, Kireev II, Khavinson VKh, Vanyushin BF (2011). Penetration of short fluorescence-labeled peptides into the nucleus in HeLa cells and in vitro specific interaction of the peptides with deoxyribooligonucleotides and DNA. Biochemistry (Moscow) 76(11):1210-1219. PMID 22117547. DOI 10.1134/S0006297911110022. Abstract read; preference for CNG- and CTG-containing sequences.
- Monaselidze JR, Khavinson VKh, Gorgoshidze MZ, Khachidze DG, Lomidze EM, Jokhadze TA, Lezhava TA (2011). Effect of the peptide bronchogen (Ala-Asp-Glu-Leu) on DNA thermostability. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine 150(3):375-377. PMID 21240358. DOI 10.1007/s10517-011-1146-x. Abstract read; melting temperature raised by 3.1 °C at peptide-to-base-pair ratios of 0.01 to 0.055.
- Ashapkin VV, Linkova NS, Khavinson VKh, Vanyushin BF (2015). Epigenetic mechanisms of peptidergic regulation of gene expression during aging of human cells. Biochemistry (Moscow) 80(3):310-322. PMID 25761685. DOI 10.1134/S0006297915030062. Abstract read: promoter methylation changed for NKX2-1 and SCGB1A1; FOXA1, SCGB3A2 and SFTPA1 "unaffected by peptides"; other mechanisms proposed.
- Khavinson VK, Linkova NS, Rudskoy AI, Petukhov MG (2023). Feasibility of Transport of 26 Biologically Active Ultrashort Peptides via LAT and PEPT Family Transporters. Biomolecules 13(3):552. PMID 36979488. PMCID PMC10046148. Full text read; AEDL docking scores −25.11 at LAT1 (rank 20 of 26), −25.35 at PEPT1 (rank 6), +12.13 at PEPT2 (rank 22). No transport experiment.
- Fedoreyeva LI, Smirnova TA, Kolomijtseva GY, Khavinson VKh, Vanyushin BF (2013). Interaction of short peptides with FITC-labeled wheat histones and their complexes with deoxyribooligonucleotides. Biochemistry (Moscow) 78(2):166-175. PMID 23581987. DOI 10.1134/S0006297913020053. Abstract read.
- Khavinson V, Linkova N, Diatlova A, Trofimova S (2020). Peptide Regulation of Cell Differentiation. Stem Cell Reviews and Reports 16(1):118-125. PMID 31808038. DOI 10.1007/s12015-019-09938-8. Abstract read; a review, cited as reference 170 in the 2022 table.
- Khavinson VKh, Linkova NS, Polyakova VO, Kheifets OV, Tarnovskaya SI, Kvetnoy IM (2012). Peptides tissue-specifically stimulate cell differentiation during their aging. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine 153(1):148-151. PMID 22808515. DOI 10.1007/s10517-012-1664-1. Abstract read: "bronchogen (Ala-Glu-Asp-Leu)", CXCL12 and Hoxa3 in bronchial epithelial cells.
- Khavinson VK, Popovich IG, Linkova NS, Mironova ES, Ilina AR (2021). Peptide Regulation of Gene Expression: A Systematic Review. Molecules 26(22):7053. PMID 34834147. PMCID PMC8619776. Full text read; the table row for AEDL cites reference 35, a 2002 study of two other peptides in the mouse heart (PMID 12360356).
- Fedoreyeva LI, Dilovarova TA, Ashapkin VV, Martirosyan YT, Khavinson VK, Kharchenko PN, Vanyushin BF (2017). Short Exogenous Peptides Regulate Expression of CLE, KNOX1, and GRF Family Genes in Nicotiana tabacum. Biochemistry (Moscow) 82(4):521-528. PMID 28371610. Abstract read.
- Fedoreyeva LI, Baranova EN, Chaban IA, Dilovarova TA, Vanyushin BF, Kononenko NV (2022). Elongating Effect of the Peptide AEDL on the Root of Nicotiana tabacum under Salinity. Plants 11(10):1352. PMID 35631778. Abstract read.
- Kononenko NV, Fedoreyeva LI (2024). Peptide AEDL and Glutathione Stimulates Root Development Nicotiana tabacum. International Journal of Molecular Sciences 26(1):289. PMID 39796141. Abstract read.
- Lazareva EM, Kazakov EP, Dilovarova TA, Kononenko NV, Fedoreyeva LI (2025). Peptide AEDL Activates Metabolism and Autophagy in Root Cells of Nicotiana tabacum. International Journal of Molecular Sciences 26(22):11028. PMID 41303518. Abstract read.
- Lazareva EM, Kazakov EP, Kononenko NV, Fedoreyeva LI (2026). Structural Features of Root Cells of Nicotiana tabacum Grown in the Presence of Short Peptides AEDL and Its Methylated Analog AED(OMe)L. International Journal of Molecular Sciences 27(15):6768. PMID 42589425. Abstract read.
- Russian drug reference rlsnet.ru, entry for the separate supplement "Bronchogen Plus", read 23 September 2026: a source of hydroxycinnamic acids with peptides and piperine, no declared AEDL content, different contraindications. https://www.rlsnet.ru/baa/bronxogen-plius-66901
- Western guide page on the substance, read 23 September 2026, used only as evidence of what circulates online. It quotes 0.5 to 2 mg with the words "self-reported; no validated human dose".
- Khavinson VKh et al. Peptide substance restoring function of respiratory organs. EP 1758922; published 7 March 2007, granted 13 February 2008, since lapsed. Read. https://patents.google.com/patent/EP1758922A1/en
- United States Food and Drug Administration. openFDA drug label, drugs@FDA and adverse event endpoints, and the DailyMed API version 2, queried 23 September 2026: no record for the trade name, against control results for semaglutide (5 labels in openFDA, 9 in DailyMed).
- United States Food and Drug Administration. Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Use in Compounding Under Section 503A. Downloaded and searched 23 September 2026: no entry for the trade name, the sequence or AEDL, while GHK returned 6 hits as a control. https://www.fda.gov/media/94155/download
- Registers that could not be read on 23 September 2026, documented here rather than treated as negative findings: the European Medicines Agency search returned HTTP 403; the Australian ARTG did not respond; the British register was not queried. The European, German, British and Australian entries therefore rest on the absence of any name, code or approval elsewhere, and on the lapse of the only European patent.
- Health Canada Drug Product Database and Licensed Natural Health Products Database APIs, queried 23 September 2026: empty results for the trade name, while the control query for Ozempic returned DIN 02471469. https://health-products.canada.ca/api/
- Swissmedic. List of authorised human medicine packs (xlsx), downloaded and searched 23 September 2026: no entry for the trade name, while Ozempic and semaglutide were found as controls.
- Drug reference vidal.ru, searched 24 September 2026: "not found" for the trade name, while the control query for Cortexin returned two product pages.
- Germany, annex to section 2(3) of the Anti-Doping Act, BGBl. 2023 I no. 67, read in full 23 September 2026: no entry for the trade name or the sequence; section II.3 on growth factors is a closed list.
- Khavinson VK, Lin'kova NS, Tarnovskaya SI (2016). Short Peptides Regulate Gene Expression. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine 162(2):288-292. PMID 27909961. DOI 10.1007/s10517-016-3596-7. Abstract read; docking of AEDL and EDL to the DNA sequence "ctcc".
Cite this page
The facts on this page were checked on 23 and 24 September 2026. Three things could change the picture: a Russian medicine registration, the full methods of the outside rat studies, or clarity on the sequence used in the 2014 cell paper.
myPeptides Research & Editing. (2026). Bronchogen: what the studies show, status and safety. Version 1.0, 24 September 2026. myPeptides Peptide Register. Retrieved from https://mypep.app/peptides/bronchogen
How pages in this register are compiled and graded is described under methodology; the full register is at peptides.
| Version | Date | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 1.0 | 2026-09-24 | Initial publication |
Last verified: 24 September 2026. Next review: on any Russian medicine registration, any registered trial, or any change to the anti-doping classification.
