All content is for general information only — not medical advice, not a dosing or usage recommendation, and not a claim of efficacy. Many substances are not approved as medicines or are prescription-only; whether possession and use are legal depends on the law of your country of residence and is your own responsibility. myPeptides does not sell or supply any substances — it is an information and organization tool. For health questions, consult a licensed physician or pharmacist.

Mazdutide vs Retatrutide: differences, evidence and safety

Updated September 25, 202612 min

Mazdutide vs Retatrutide: differences, evidence and safety

Answer first

Mazdutide switches on the receptors for two hormones, GLP-1 and glucagon, and is licensed as a medicine only in China. Retatrutide adds a third, for GIP, and is approved nowhere; its late-stage results exist only as company press releases. No study comparing the two could be found, so the figures below come from separate trials and cannot be ranked.

At a glance

AttributeMazdutideRetatrutide
Substance classIncretins & metabolicIncretins & metabolic
Legal categoryPrescription medicineIn clinical development
Approval status by market
United StatesInvestigationalInvestigational
European UnionInvestigationalInvestigational
GermanyInvestigationalInvestigational
United KingdomInvestigationalInvestigational
AustraliaNot approvedInvestigational
CanadaNot approvedInvestigational
SwitzerlandNot approvedInvestigational
WADA statusNot listed (2026)Prohibited (S0, 2026)
Development stageApprovedPhase 3
Strongest evidencePhase 3 randomised trialPhase 2 randomised trial
Registered trials (ClinicalTrials.gov)1215+
Sequence length34 amino acids39 amino acids
Molecular weight4476 g/molNot established
Last verified2026-09-102026-09-06

How they work

Both are laboratory-made peptides designed by Eli Lilly, chains of 34 and 39 amino acids respectively [1], [2], [3], [4]. They differ in how many hormone docking points, or receptors, they switch on.

Mazdutide

  • Two receptors, GLP-1 and glucagon. Its backbone copies oxyntomodulin, a hormone the gut releases after a meal [2].
  • The GLP-1 part. Switching this receptor on prompts insulin release when blood sugar is high, slows the stomach down and dampens appetite [5].
  • The glucagon part. The idea is that it raises the energy the body burns and makes the liver oxidise more fat. No direct measurement of this in people could be found [6].

Retatrutide

  • Three receptors, GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon. In laboratory tests it is more active at the GIP receptor than at the other two [4].
  • The stomach. A dedicated early-stage study confirmed that the stomach empties more slowly in people [7].
  • The glucagon part. As with mazdutide, the extra energy use and the change in how the liver handles fat are an idea. No direct measurement of either in people could be found [4].
  • Blood sugar still falls. Glucagon on its own pushes blood sugar up. The published explanation is that the two gut hormone effects outweigh it [4].

The core difference is the receptor for GIP, a second gut hormone, which only retatrutide switches on. No trial separating what each receptor contributes in people could be found for either drug [6], [4].

Both carry a fatty acid chain that makes them cling to albumin, a carrier protein in the blood. The body therefore clears them slowly [8], [3]. For retatrutide it takes about six days to clear half a dose [9]. For mazdutide the figure varied widely between people, from 7.3 to 44.8 days in an early study of 24 participants [8].

What the studies show

No study that compares mazdutide and retatrutide directly could be found in the published record reviewed for this page. The registered head-to-head trials found for each drug set it against a third drug. DREAMS-3 pits mazdutide against semaglutide in 349 Chinese adults with type 2 diabetes and obesity. It has published only its design and baseline data [10]. TRIUMPH-5 pits retatrutide against tirzepatide in 800 participants and has not reported results [11].

Everything below therefore comes from separate trials. They enrolled different people, gave different doses, measured different endpoints and ran for different lengths of time. Their numbers cannot be set against each other. Almost every mazdutide participant so far has been Chinese; the single American trial enrolled 179 people [12].

The level of independent checking differs as well. The late-stage mazdutide trials below are published in medical journals [13], [14], [15], [16]. For retatrutide, no full journal publication of a late-stage trial could be found by 6 September 2026 [11].

Weight in adults with obesity or overweight

Phase 3 RCT GLORY-1 randomised 610 Chinese adults to one of two mazdutide dose levels or to a dummy injection. Average starting weight was 87.2 kg and average body mass index 31.1. After 48 weeks the two treated groups had lost 11.00% and 14.01% of body weight, while the placebo group gained 0.30% [13].

Phase 3 RCT GLORY-2 ran for 60 weeks in 461 Chinese adults with obesity. The group was young, with an average age of 33.9 years and an average body mass index of 34.3. Of the participants, 16.1% also had type 2 diabetes. The treated group lost 16.65% of body weight, against 1.50% on placebo [14].

Phase 2 RCT The only published mazdutide trial found outside China enrolled 179 American adults. At week 32 the highest dose group had lost 18.1% of body weight, against 0.9% on placebo. That came at a cost: 20% of the group stopped taking part because of side effects [12].

Phase 2 RCT A mid-stage retatrutide trial allocated 338 adults with obesity at random to one of four doses or to a dummy injection. After 48 weeks their weight had fallen by 8.7%, 17.1%, 22.8% and 24.2% from the lowest to the highest dose, against 2.1% on placebo [17].

Phase 3 (press release only) TRIUMPH-1 followed 2,339 adults without diabetes for 80 weeks. The manufacturer reported losses of 19.0%, 25.9% and 28.3% across three doses, against 2.2% on placebo. No independent experts had checked these figures by 6 September 2026 [18], [11].

The sources behind this page give no age, origin or starting weight figures for the retatrutide weight trials. The two groups of participants cannot be matched.

Blood sugar in type 2 diabetes

Both drugs were measured on glycated haemoglobin. This blood value reflects average blood sugar over the past two to three months.

Phase 3 RCT DREAMS-1 enrolled 320 Chinese adults whose diabetes was not controlled by diet and exercise alone. From a starting value of 8.24%, the reading fell over 24 weeks by 1.57 and 2.15 percentage points on the two mazdutide doses. On placebo it fell by 0.14 points [15].

Phase 3 RCT, active comparator DREAMS-2 set mazdutide against dulaglutide, an established diabetes injection, in 731 Chinese adults already taking tablets. After 28 weeks both mazdutide doses lowered the reading further than dulaglutide, by 0.24 and 0.30 percentage points [16].

Phase 2 RCT A mid-stage retatrutide trial conducted in the USA enrolled 281 adults with type 2 diabetes. After 24 weeks the reading fell by 0.43 points on the lowest dose and 2.02 points on the highest. It barely moved on placebo, at 0.01 points, and fell by 1.41 points on dulaglutide [19].

Phase 3 (press release only) TRIUMPH-2 followed 1,152 adults with type 2 diabetes for 80 weeks. The reported fall was 1.4 to 1.6 points from a starting value of 7.7%. Weight fell by 12.7%, 19.1% and 20.8% across three doses, against 4.0% on placebo [20].

Dulaglutide appears in trials of both drugs, including a mid-stage Chinese mazdutide trial in 250 adults. Over 20 weeks the reading fell by 1.41 to 1.67 points on mazdutide and by 1.35 points on dulaglutide [21]. A shared comparator does not turn separate trials into a direct comparison, because the people, doses and durations still differ.

Liver fat

Phase 2a RCT A retatrutide sub-study enrolled 98 people without diabetes whose livers were at least 10% fat. After 24 weeks, scans showed the fat content down by 42.9%, 57.0%, 81.4% and 82.4% across four doses. On placebo it edged up by 0.3% [22].

Animal data No human liver-fat results have been published for mazdutide. In forty-two male mice on a high-fat diet, liver fat fell further on the dual-acting drug than on a single-hormone comparator. The middle value of the fall was 5.59% against 3.30% [23].

Heart and kidney outcomes

Phase 3 (press release only) TRIUMPH-3 enrolled 1,949 adults with severe obesity and diagnosed heart disease. Counted broadly, serious heart events numbered 44 on retatrutide against 52 on placebo (hazard ratio 0.82, range 0.55 to 1.22). Counted narrowly, they numbered 27 against 23 (hazard ratio 1.12, range 0.64 to 1.96) [20].

Both ranges include the possibility of no difference, so they show neither a benefit nor a harm. TRIUMPH-Outcomes, built to answer the question, enrols 10,000 people and will not reach its main result before February 2029 [24].

No trial found No published heart or kidney outcome trial could be found for mazdutide, and the trial registry lists none as started [25], [26].

How long the trials ran

The published mazdutide trials found ran for 60 weeks at most, and none of them reports what happens to weight after the injections stop [14]. For retatrutide, the longest follow-up is 104 weeks, reported by press release from an extension limited to people with a body mass index of at least 35 [18].

How certain the evidence is

Meta-analysis A review published in 2026 pooled nine randomised mazdutide trials with 2,292 participants. For weight in people with obesity but no diabetes, it rated the certainty very low, because the trials were few and differed widely. In type 2 diabetes it graded the evidence moderate [25].

Outcomes studied for only one of the two

Phase 3 (press release only) Retatrutide was tested for knee pain in TRIUMPH-4, in 445 adults with worn knee joints. Over 68 weeks their pain score fell by 4.5 and 4.4 points from a starting level of 6.0, against 2.4 points on placebo. No ranges of uncertainty were published [27].

Safety

Mazdutide's safety figures come from published trials in mostly Chinese adults, retatrutide's late-stage figures only from press releases. The lists below are therefore not a ranking [14], [18].

Mazdutide. Most frequencies come from GLORY-2, comparing the treated group with placebo over 60 weeks [14].

  • Stomach and bowel. Vomiting affected 53.1% against 1.3%, nausea 46.9% against 3.2% and diarrhoea 39.4% against 6.5%. Most cases were described as mild or moderate [14].
  • Stopping treatment. Side effects ended participation for 2.9% in GLORY-2, against none on placebo. In the American mid-stage trial the figure reached 20% of the highest dose group [14], [12].
  • A faster pulse. In the Chinese mid-stage trial the pulse rose by 5.82, 5.38 and 8.75 beats per minute across three dose levels. On placebo it rose by 4.81. In an early high-dose study the average rise reached 17.4 [8], [28].
  • Low blood sugar. In the Chinese mid-stage obesity trial, readings at or below 3.9 mmol/l occurred in 1.6% to 3.3% of treated participants. The placebo figure was 1.6% [28].

Retatrutide. The figures compare the highest dose with placebo in TRIUMPH-1, as reported by press release [18].

  • Stomach and bowel. Nausea affected 42.4% against 14.8%, diarrhoea 32.0% against 13.5%, constipation 26.1% against 10.9% and vomiting 25.3% against 4.8% [18].
  • Odd skin sensations. Tingling, burning or numbness (dysesthesia) affected 12.5% against 0.9%. In TRIUMPH-4, also reported by press release, it reached 8.8% and 20.9% against 0.7%, and was described as mostly mild [18], [27].
  • Stopping treatment. In TRIUMPH-1, according to the press release, 4.1%, 6.9% and 11.3% stopped across the three doses, against 4.9% on placebo [18].
  • A faster pulse. In the mid-stage obesity trial the heart rate rose with the dose and peaked at week 24 [17]. One independent assessment puts the largest rise at 6.7 beats per minute; another flags mild to moderate irregular heartbeat [29], [30].
  • No approved product information. The American and European registers checked hold no approval, so no official benefit-risk assessment or list of warnings could be found [31], [32].

A 2026 case report describes a man with type 1 diabetes who injected a product sold online under the retatrutide name. He developed severe vomiting, a dangerous build-up of acids in the blood and sudden kidney damage [33].

No mazdutide contraindication list can be quoted, because the Chinese product information was not publicly retrievable on 10 September 2026. No completed trial showing what the faster pulse means over years could be found for either drug [25], [24].

Why this page lists no doses. Mazdutide is prescription-only in China and experimental elsewhere; retatrutide is experimental everywhere. The dose belongs to approved product information or a supervised trial plan. This page therefore names doses only by their rank among those tested, not as an amount.

Mazdutide is a prescription medicine in China, licensed in June 2025 for long-term weight management and in September 2025 for blood sugar control in type 2 diabetes [34]. Everywhere else it is an unapproved experimental drug [35], [36]. Retatrutide is approved nowhere; the manufacturer has announced a US application for early 2027 but had not filed it [20], [31]. In sport, mazdutide is not named on the 2026 prohibited list, which is no clearance [37]. Retatrutide is banned at all times under section S0, which covers unapproved substances [38]. The monographs reflect the position on 10 September 2026 for mazdutide and 6 September 2026 for retatrutide.

Used together?

The myPeptides blend directory lists no product that combines mazdutide and retatrutide. Its only entry containing retatrutide, Loretta, pairs it with eloralintide, an amylin analogue. Both of those are in phase 3 and approved nowhere.

No study of mazdutide and retatrutide given together could be found in the sources reviewed for this page. Retatrutide itself already acts on both receptors that mazdutide targets, GLP-1 and glucagon [6], [4].

Frequently asked questions

Which is better, mazdutide or retatrutide?

The evidence does not say. In GLORY-2, among 461 Chinese adults with obesity, mazdutide lowered weight by 16.65% over 60 weeks. Retatrutide was not part of that trial; in its own mid-stage trial of 338 adults with obesity, its highest dose lowered weight by 24.2% over 48 weeks. No study comparing the two directly could be found.

Is mazdutide or retatrutide safer?

No trial comparing their safety directly could be found. In GLORY-2, in Chinese adults, 53.1% of the mazdutide group vomited. In TRIUMPH-1, according to a company press release, nausea affected 42.4% of the highest retatrutide dose group. The trials differ in participants, length and how results were published, so these figures cannot be ranked.

What is the difference between mazdutide and retatrutide?

Mazdutide switches on two hormone receptors, GLP-1 and glucagon, and copies the gut hormone oxyntomodulin. Retatrutide switches on those two plus the receptor for GIP. Mazdutide is a licensed medicine in China and experimental elsewhere. Retatrutide is approved nowhere, and its late-stage results exist only as press releases.

Can mazdutide and retatrutide be taken together?

No study of the two drugs given together could be found, and the myPeptides blend directory lists no combination of them. Retatrutide already acts on the GLP-1 and glucagon receptors that mazdutide targets. Mazdutide is prescription-only in China and unapproved elsewhere, and retatrutide is approved nowhere.

Is mazdutide or retatrutide approved anywhere?

Mazdutide is, but only in China, where it was licensed in June 2025 for long-term weight management and in September 2025 for blood sugar control in type 2 diabetes. No register checked lists an approval for retatrutide in any country. Its manufacturer announced a US application for early 2027 but had not filed it by 6 September 2026.

Have mazdutide and retatrutide been tested against each other?

No such trial could be found. The registered head-to-head trials found for each drug involve a third drug. DREAMS-3 compares mazdutide with semaglutide in Chinese adults and has published only its design. TRIUMPH-5 compares retatrutide with tirzepatide and has not reported results.

Were the mazdutide and retatrutide trials run in similar people?

Not in a way that would allow a comparison. Almost every mazdutide participant so far has been Chinese, and the only published American trial found enrolled 179 people. The retatrutide diabetes trial cited here was conducted in the USA.

Are mazdutide and retatrutide banned in sport?

Mazdutide is not named on the 2026 prohibited list, and a full-text search found no mention of GLP-1 or glucagon drugs. That is not a clearance, because the list is rewritten every year. Retatrutide is banned at all times under section S0, which covers substances that no health authority has approved.

How long do mazdutide and retatrutide stay in the body?

The body takes about six days to clear half a dose of retatrutide. For mazdutide the figure varied widely, from 7.3 to 44.8 days in an early study of 24 participants.

Sources

Two original titles below name the injection schedule used in the trial. They are replaced by a neutral description and marked as such; authors, year, journal, volume, pages and identifiers are unchanged.

  1. Abdul Fasi M (2026). Patent landscape and therapeutic evolution of mazdutide: a dual GLP-1/glucagon receptor agonist for obesity and type 2 diabetes. Expert Opinion on Therapeutic Patents 36(5):459-469. PMID 41820018. DOI 10.1080/13543776.2026.2645812
  2. FDA Global Substance Registration System. Substance record "Mazdutide", UNII MB76Z4IBZ5, UUID f7c54d54-5dd2-4052-90a6-61e7c9842bab. Retrieved 10 September 2026. https://gsrs.ncats.nih.gov/api/v1/substances(f7c54d54-5dd2-4052-90a6-61e7c9842bab)?view=full
  3. FDA Global Substance Registration System. Substance record "Retatrutide", UUID 52f7c547-14ed-454d-9bc2-c9137d0b5922, UNII NOP2Y096GV. Retrieved 6 September 2026. https://gsrs.ncats.nih.gov/api/v1/substances(52f7c547-14ed-454d-9bc2-c9137d0b5922)?view=full
  4. Coskun T et al. (2022). LY3437943, a novel triple glucagon, GIP, and GLP-1 receptor agonist for glycemic control and weight loss: from discovery to clinical proof of concept. Cell Metabolism 34(9):1234-1247. PMID 35985340. DOI 10.1016/j.cmet.2022.07.013
  5. Jiang H et al. (2022). A phase 1b randomised controlled trial of a glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon receptor dual agonist IBI362 (LY3305677) in Chinese patients with type 2 diabetes. Nature Communications 13:3613. PMID 35750681. PMCID PMC9232612. DOI 10.1038/s41467-022-31328-x
  6. Ji L et al. (2021). IBI362 (LY3305677), a GLP-1 and glucagon receptor dual agonist, in Chinese adults with overweight or obesity: a randomised, placebo-controlled, multiple ascending dose phase 1b study (title replaced by a neutral description). EClinicalMedicine 39:101088. PMID 34430840. PMCID PMC8374649. DOI 10.1016/j.eclinm.2021.101088
  7. Urva S et al. (2023). The novel GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist retatrutide delays gastric emptying. Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism 25(9):2784-2788. PMID 37311727. DOI 10.1111/dom.15167
  8. Ji L et al. (2022). Safety and efficacy of a GLP-1 and glucagon receptor dual agonist mazdutide (IBI362) in Chinese adults with overweight or obesity: a randomised, placebo-controlled, multiple-ascending-dose phase 1b trial. EClinicalMedicine 54:101691. PMID 36247927. PMCID PMC9561728. DOI 10.1016/j.eclinm.2022.101691
  9. Urva S et al. (2022). LY3437943, a novel triple GIP, GLP-1, and glucagon receptor agonist in people with type 2 diabetes: a phase 1b, multicentre, double-blind, placebo-controlled, randomised, multiple-ascending dose trial. The Lancet 400(10366):1869-1881. PMID 36354040. DOI 10.1016/S0140-6736(22)02033-5
  10. Luo Y et al. (2026). Mazdutide versus semaglutide for the treatment of type 2 diabetes and obesity: rationale, design and baseline data of the DREAMS-3 phase 3 trial. Contemporary Clinical Trials 160:108150. PMID 41260459. DOI 10.1016/j.cct.2025.108150
  11. ClinicalTrials.gov API v2. Study records for NCT03841630, NCT04143802, NCT04867785, NCT04881760, NCT05882045, NCT05929066, NCT05929079, NCT05931367, NCT05936151, NCT06260722, NCT06297603, NCT06354660, NCT06383390, NCT06662383, NCT06859268, NCT07035093 and NCT07165028. Retrieved 6 September 2026. https://clinicaltrials.gov/api/v2/studies/NCT05929066
  12. Hsia SH et al. (2026). Efficacy and safety of mazdutide in adults with obesity or overweight: a US-based, multicentre, phase 2, randomised, placebo-controlled clinical trial. The Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology, online 21 August 2026. PMID 42628555. DOI 10.1016/S2213-8587(26)00160-9
  13. Ji L et al.; GLORY-1 Investigators (2025). Mazdutide in Chinese adults with obesity or overweight (title replaced by a neutral description). New England Journal of Medicine 392(22):2215-2225. PMID 40421736. DOI 10.1056/NEJMoa2411528
  14. Gao L et al.; GLORY-2 Trial Investigators (2026). Treatment with mazdutide for weight reduction in Chinese adults with obesity: the GLORY-2 randomized clinical trial. JAMA 336(5):377-388. PMID 42251595. DOI 10.1001/jama.2026.8142
  15. Zhu D et al. (2026). Mazdutide versus placebo in Chinese adults with type 2 diabetes. Nature 652(8108):174-180. PMID 41407859. DOI 10.1038/s41586-025-10026-w
  16. Guo L et al.; DREAMS-2 investigators (2026). Mazdutide versus dulaglutide in Chinese adults with type 2 diabetes. Nature 652(8108):181-188. PMID 41407860. DOI 10.1038/s41586-025-10031-z
  17. Jastreboff AM et al. (2023). Triple-hormone-receptor agonist retatrutide for obesity — a phase 2 trial. New England Journal of Medicine 389(6):514-526. PMID 37366315. DOI 10.1056/NEJMoa2301972
  18. Eli Lilly and Company. Press release, 21 May 2026, TRIUMPH-1 topline results. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-delivered-powerful-weight-loss-in-pivotal-phase-3-obesity-trial-302778859.html
  19. Rosenstock J et al. (2023). Retatrutide, a GIP, GLP-1 and glucagon receptor agonist, for people with type 2 diabetes: a randomised, double-blind, placebo and active-controlled, parallel-group, phase 2 trial conducted in the USA. The Lancet 402(10401):529-544. PMID 37385280. DOI 10.1016/S0140-6736(23)01053-X
  20. Eli Lilly and Company. Press release, 23 July 2026, TRIUMPH-2 and TRIUMPH-3 topline results and announced regulatory submission. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-successful-in-two-additional-phase-3-obesity-trials-delivering-significant-improvements-in-weight-and-a1c-302832674.html
  21. Zhang B et al. (2024). Efficacy and safety of mazdutide in Chinese patients with type 2 diabetes: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled phase 2 trial. Diabetes Care 47(1):160-168. PMID 37943529. PMCID PMC10733643. DOI 10.2337/dc23-1287
  22. Sanyal AJ et al. (2024). Triple hormone receptor agonist retatrutide for metabolic dysfunction-associated steatotic liver disease: a randomized phase 2a trial. Nature Medicine 30(7):2037-2048. PMID 38858523. DOI 10.1038/s41591-024-03018-2
  23. Xia H et al. (2025). Multiparametric MRI evaluation of liver fat and iron after glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor and glucagon receptor dual-agonist treatment in a high-fat diet-induced mouse model. Radiology 316(2):e243780. PMID 40828048. DOI 10.1148/radiol.243780
  24. ClinicalTrials.gov. NCT06383390, TRIUMPH-Outcomes; n = 10,000, primary completion February 2029. Retrieved 6 September 2026. https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT06383390
  25. Kamrul-Hasan ABM et al. (2026). Efficacy and safety of the dual glucagon-like peptide-1 and glucagon receptor agonist mazdutide in predominantly Chinese adults with obesity and/or type 2 diabetes: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism 28(10):8777-8794. PMID 42410325. PMCID PMC13538747. DOI 10.1111/dom.71058
  26. ClinicalTrials.gov API v2. Queries for "mazdutide", "IBI362" and "LY3305677" returned 43 study records; individual entries retrieved for NCT02972645, NCT03325387, NCT03928379, NCT04440345, NCT04466904, NCT04904913, NCT04965506, NCT05606913, NCT05607680, NCT05623839, NCT05628311, NCT05793450, NCT05815680, NCT06124807, NCT06143956, NCT06164873, NCT06184568, NCT06817356, NCT06884293, NCT06931028, NCT06937749, NCT07083154 and NCT07255209. Retrieved 10 September 2026. https://clinicaltrials.gov/api/v2/studies?query.intr=mazdutide
  27. Eli Lilly and Company. Press release, 11 December 2025, TRIUMPH-4 topline results. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/lillys-triple-agonist-retatrutide-delivered-weight-loss-of-up-to-an-average-of-71-2-lbs-along-with-substantial-relief-from-osteoarthritis-pain-in-first-successful-phase-3-trial-302638804.html
  28. Ji L et al. (2023). A phase 2 randomised controlled trial of mazdutide in Chinese overweight adults or adults with obesity. Nature Communications 14:8289. PMID 38092790. PMCID PMC10719339. DOI 10.1038/s41467-023-44067-4
  29. Expert Opinion on Investigational Drugs (2023). Retatrutide showing promise in obesity (and type 2 diabetes). PMID 37947489
  30. Expert Opinion on Investigational Drugs (2023). Retatrutide: a triple incretin receptor agonist for obesity management. PMID 37902090
  31. openFDA. Drugs@FDA API query for generic name and brand name "retatrutide"; response NOT_FOUND. Retrieved 6 September 2026. https://api.fda.gov/drug/drugsfda.json?search=openfda.generic_name:retatrutide+OR+openfda.brand_name:retatrutide
  32. European Medicines Agency. Medicines search, full text "retatrutide"; no authorised medicine entry. Retrieved 6 September 2026. https://www.ema.europa.eu/en/medicines?search_api_fulltext=retatrutide
  33. Cureus (2026). Online-sourced retatrutide complicating impending diabetic ketoacidosis in a patient with type 1 diabetes and concurrent Shigella gastroenteritis. PMID 42669023
  34. Shirley M (2025). Mazdutide: first approval. Drugs 85(12):1621-1627. PMID 41028652. DOI 10.1007/s40265-025-02249-y
  35. openFDA. Drugs@FDA, drug label and enforcement queries for "mazdutide"; each returned no match. Control query for semaglutide in the same run returned results. Retrieved 10 September 2026. https://api.fda.gov/drug/drugsfda.json?search=openfda.generic_name:mazdutide
  36. European Commission. Community Register of medicinal products for human use; no entry for "mazdutide", against five for semaglutide in the same document. Retrieved 10 September 2026. https://ec.europa.eu/health/documents/community-register/html/reg_hum_act.htm
  37. World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, in force from 1 January 2026; official text published as annex to BGBl. III No. 219 of 30 December 2025. Sections S2 and S4.4 reviewed in full; full-text search for "mazdutide", "glucagon", "GLP-1" and "incretin" returned no hits. Retrieved 10 September 2026.
  38. World Anti-Doping Agency. The 2026 Prohibited List, in force from 1 January 2026; official text as annex to BGBl. III No. 219/2025; sections S0 and S2 reviewed in full. Retrieved 6 September 2026. https://rdb.manz.at/__api/documents/ris.c.BGBl__III_Nr__219_2025/attachments/ris.c.BGBl__III_Nr__219_2025.Anlagen_0002_F0BD5BBE_465B_4C18_BFE4_16E75843E435.pdf

Last reviewed: September 2026

Take myPeptides with you

Track doses, plans and progress on your phone — end-to-end encrypted.

This article is for informational purposes only and does not replace medical advice. myPeptides gives no dosing recommendations.